I want to implement a normal log in julia and i'm new in and don't know how to do it

hi all;
i want to implement a normal log in Julia, I used “using Distributions” and i’m trying to run in it in Jupiter notebook but when I press TAB and write LogNormal it doesn’t show me anything like there doesn’t exist any LogNormal function. do you have any idea to help me, please?

here is the part of my code that I want to implement:

using Revise # lets you change A2funcs without restarting julia!
includet(“A2_src.jl”)
using Plots
using Statistics: mean
using Zygote
using Test
using Logging
using Distributions
using .A2funcs: log1pexp # log(1 + exp(x)) stable
using .A2funcs: factorized_gaussian_log_density
using .A2funcs: skillcontour!
using .A2funcs: plot_line_equal_skill!

function log_prior(zs)
return #TODO
end

includet is a function of Revise, making Revise track the included file for changes and reloading on the fly. It’s not related to the question in general.

2 Likes

that is another source file. it’s not important here, main problem is don’t know how to implement a log normal as a prior, as i’ve mentioned it in the question as #todo

You can find the documentation for LogNormal here:

LogNormal()          # Log-normal distribution with zero log-mean and unit scale
LogNormal(mu)        # Log-normal distribution with log-mean mu and unit scale
LogNormal(mu, sig)   # Log-normal distribution with log-mean mu and scale sig

params(d)            # Get the parameters, i.e. (mu, sig)
meanlogx(d)          # Get the mean of log(X), i.e. mu
varlogx(d)           # Get the variance of log(X), i.e. sig^2
stdlogx(d)           # Get the standard deviation of log(X), i.e. sig
4 Likes

Thanks, didn’t know. To keep it clean, I removed my post. You may consider removing your clarifications too.

Could you try your code in a plain Julia REPL (no jupiter?), just to be sure, it’s not something which comes with combination Jupiter+Revise.