I cannot get close to full speed up in parallel

I have a code that is embarrassingly parallel, but I cannot get full its speed up.
The dummy code is here:

function points_on_sphere_surface(num_pts=100, R=2) 
    indices = 1:num_pts .+ 0.5

ϕ = acos.(1 .- 2*indices/num_pts)
    θ = π*(1 + sqrt(5)).*indices

x, y, z = R.*cos.(θ).*sin.(ϕ), R.*sin.(θ).*sin.(ϕ), R.*cos.(ϕ)
    return [x y z]
end

function original_foo(sphere, r, β)
    N = length(β)
    nx = sphere[1]
    ny = sphere[2]
    nz = sphere[3]
    intensity = zeros(N, N)
    for n=1:N
         for m=1:N 
            rx = r[1,n] - r[1, m]
            ry = r[2,n] - r[2, m]
            rz = r[3,n] - r[3, m]

dot_n_r = nx*rx + ny*ry + nz*rz
            intensity[n,m] = real(conj(β[n])*β[m]*exp(im*dot_n_r)) # I need to define a matrix 
        end
    end
    return sum(intensity)
end

N = 500
r = rand(3, N)
β = rand(ComplexF64, N)
sphere = points_on_sphere_surface(200, 10)

time_sequencial = @elapsed begin
    x = zeros(200)
    for i = 1:200
        point_in_sphere = sphere[i,:]
        x[i] = original_foo(point_in_sphere, r, β)
    end
end

time_parallel = @elapsed begin
    x = []
    for i = 1:200
        point_in_sphere = sphere[i,:]
        push!(x, Threads.@spawn original_foo(point_in_sphere, r, β))
    end
    y = fetch.(x);
end

speedup = time_sequencial/time_parallel

My notebook has 4cores/8threads. and I initiate Julia with 8 threads.
However, my best case scenario I have around 4 times speed up.

Is there any limitation in my code that sets this upper boundary ?

The main problem here is that with 4 cores, 4x speedup is all you should expect.

3 Likes