How to write idiomatic (non-OOP) Julia version of OOP design pattern?

I learned a lot about Object Oriented Programming from this blog article from 2020 about “Gang of Four” design patterns. I should say that I learned about OOP long ago via a Java book but as a data professional I have never needed to know much about these things. I should emphasize that OOP never clicked with me, and when I discovered Julia it felt like a natural language.

How would we properly write idiomatic (non-OOP) Julia version of the solution? The python for the blog author’s preferred solution is pasted far below.

Here is my attempt in Julia to respond to the author’s preferred solution to a toy implementation of Logger in python, using the “Composition over Inheritance” principle from “Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software”. Their solution avoids the explosion of subclasses problem that can happen with inheritance in OOP.

function log_message(message::String, sink::T) where {T <: AbstractPath}
    io = open(sink, "a")
    write(io, message * "\n")
    close(io)
end

function log_message(message::String, sink::TCPSocket)
    send(socket::UDPSocket, message)
end

function log_message(message::String, sink::SysLog)
    write(sink, message)
end

function message_filter(pattern::Vector{String}, message::String)
    for x in pattern
        if  occursin(x, message)
            return message
        end
    end
end

# TEST: log_message function
using FilePathsBase
msg1 = "Error: Its a bad bad problem here"
msg2 = "Warn: eh ok fine"
file = Path("./test-logger.txt")

log_message(message_filter(["Error"], msg1), file)
# or pipe the filtered message
message_filter(["Warn"], msg2) |> (x -> log_message(x, file))

shell> cat test-logger.txt
    # Error: Its a bad bad problem here
    # Warn: eh ok fine

From “Solution #4: Beyond the Gang of Four patterns”, the python from the post is copied below.