I wrote a guide about Object Orientation and Polymorphism in Julia. opinions wanted!

People seem to have a hard time grokking Julia’s approach to OO and understanding how it is possible to live without classical inheritance. I took a short break from screeching at them on Quora to write this guide about how how to do composition, encapsulation and polymorphism in Julia.

I also wasn’t shy about my opinions where I feel Julia could improve its support for object orientation. I have no background in CS and have been working as a professional developer for all of three years, so I figured I would be the perfect person to give people advice about software design.

Needless to say feedback and criticisms are welcome. I would like this guide to be as helpful, clear and accurate as possible, and I’m sure there are some mistakes in there. I would say I’m “in the advanced stages” of learning Julia, but I’m certainly no expert. plz help.

17 Likes

I’ve thought about this lately as I keep sliding back into a more OO like approach to things (within Julia). I think the human brain is just more well suited for OO programming, because it’s super simple and goal directed.

Like, “Let’s build a house”

OO programming: “We need to define the house class. We could have the room class inherit…”
Functional programming: “Let’s build a drill. Then we can build whatever we want.”

You have to think a lot more with the latter at first, but once you have everything built the only limit is your mastery of the tools at hand.

Anyway, in my quick read nothing stood out as “wrong”. It may or may not be worth noting on the last part about inheritance and composition that it’s really a trade off. You can spend the extra time writing out “inheritence” at a field level or write a bunch of extra boiler plate for OO inheritence (of many forms).

I think the level it’s explained at is very appropriate (especially traits).

5 Likes