How to properly bring in a module and use its namespace

Hello, Julia noob here. I am trying to take some code that worked in a previous version of Julia (0.6 I think?) and get it working in the current version (1.6.2). The problem I am having is in the previous version, they did the following to get access to a local module:

push!(LOAD_PATH, “./”)
using myModule

And then used the exports from myModule as is without having to specify namespace. So if myModule has

export x
x = 1

Then the code could use x without having to say myModule.x.
However, in 1.6, this import sequence does not work the same.

It says

ERROR: LoadError: ArgumentError: Package myModule not found in current path

after the using line

If I do

push!(LOAD_PATH, “./”)
import myModule

instead, I get the same error.

I can do

push!(LOAD_PATH, “./”)
include(“myModule.jl”)

but then I have to refer to variables by myModule.x instead of just x. If I do the above followed by “using myModule”, I get the same error as above.

How can I pull in a local module and use its namespace without having to specify the namespace before every one of its functions and variables?

The reason I want to do this is because this is what was done in the codebase from 0.6, and going through to add the namespace before every function and variable call would take forever, especially considering there are nested modules.

Welcome to Julia Discourse!

I am unable to replicate your error:

julia> write("myModule.jl", "module myModule export x; x = 1; end"); # create myModule.jl

julia> push!(LOAD_PATH, "./");

julia> using myModule
[ Info: Precompiling myModule [top-level]

julia> x

julia> rm("myModule.jl") # clean up

If you want to do it this way, push!(LOAD_PATH, "./") is unnecessary, and the using statement is slightly different.

include("myModule.jl")
using .myModule

is what you want.

Thank you! This seems to be working.