Apparent inconsistency importing modules

Hi there,
I am new to Julia but I have written a few lines of Julia and I am still juggling with this, and it feels like I still don’t get it or I am not doing something right. So start off, when I want to import a module using using it seems I have two choices, I either include the file source file that has that module so I can then call using, or I append that directory to LOAD_PATH? I don’t really understand the latter. Like will Julia look inside source files in the loaded directories? And I am not sure I would want to modify global variables to have my software run?

I have something like

test.jl
Mod/Mod.jl

and tried push!(LOAD_PATH, ".\\Mod") from within test.jl, that did not work. I would like to understand how this works, but still, I would like for my software to just run without touching global variables.

But the main thing I am concerned about is this below

#mod1.jl
module Mod1
  x = 1
end

#mod2.jl
include("mod1.jl")
module Mod2
  using Mod1
  x = Mod1.x
end

#mod3.jl
module Mod3
  include("mod2.jl")
end

Here, julia mod2.jl works and julia mod3.jl doesn’t (it cannot load Mod1).

I have had a frustrating experience so far dealing with modules in Julia. Like, for instance, I tend to define module_file_jl=nothing inside module_file.jl so I can include as follows

!isdefined(:module_file_jl) && include("module_file.jl")

I have the above all over my code base as to avoid type reloads that lead to run-time errors where equivalent types do not match (this was painful for a while) when I include module_file.jl in several other files. But that trick solved the problem, but it certainly feels like a hack.

I have gone through the documentation for Modules, but I really need help here as this is bad (the way I am working on it). Thank you.

Pedro

Ok, a few things:

1. Definitely don’t do the !isdefined(:foo_jl) && include("foo.jl") trick. That’s a C-ism that should never be needed in Julia.