How to perform parallel vector addition?

Hi guys~

I’m completely new to Julia and I just installed Julia this morning, so this question might seem a bit stupid.

I’ve learned that Julia has JIT and well-supported multithreading, so I just want to check it out. The first trial is to parallelly add two vectors like this:

a = rand(10000000)
b = rand(10000000)
c = a + b

We know that in Numpy, we have SIMD support; and if you use V(ector)M(ath)L(ibrary) in MKL, you can have multithreaded vector addition.

When I try this on Julia, I’m not sure if it is done by SIMD, and also I don’t know how to make it multithreaded. @threads seems to only work on for loops, and what I can get on the Internet is mostly about parallel reduce functions.

Did I miss something? I believe there must be some good ways to do this simple vector arithmetic.

in general something as simple as adding 2 vectors won’t benefit from multithreading (you’ll be bottle-necked by memory speed). Also, you’ll get roughly 3x better performance from a .+= b which will update a to have b added to it rather than allocate a new array and fill it with the sum.

If I understand it correctly, I would get 2x speed with parallelism if I have a double channel memory, right?

It’s not that simple. For example, dual channel DDR4-3200 has roughly 50GB/s bandwidth. A single zen2 core can do 2 256 bit adds per cycle which at 4ghz clock speed is 256 GB/s, so a single core could roughly keep up with 10 channels of DDR4 memory. For smaller vectors, the speeds will depend on caches though.