How to calculate cross-correlation on a 2D domain

Hi everyone,

I’m studying a scalar field u(x,t) on a 2D box LxL, with periodic boundary conditions.
What I would like to do is to calculate the cross-correlation between u(x,t1) and u(x+r,t1) at varying of r, where r is the euclidean distance.

After discretized the domain (then now it could be see as a lattice), my problem is about how to reach, for each node of the lattice, the points on the circle of radius r.

I have implemented a simple way to do it, but it doesn’t work with the periodic boundary conditions:

r=4 #for instance
dd=1:N
kk=[Int64[] for i in dd]

for i in dd

for j in dd
        if norm(A[:,i]-A[:,j], 2)==r
            append!(kk[i],[j])
        end
    end
end

Where A is the 2xN matrix containing the coordinates of each node of the lattice. Here the kk vector contains for each node his “neighbors” at the euclidean distance r, but it not consider the bc.

I’m sure that exist a better way to solve this probem, every help is welcome, thanks!

Hi @Frazze ,

are you trying to do an Empirical Variogram?
If so, I think GitHub - JuliaEarth/GeoStats.jl: An extensible framework for geospatial data science and geostatistical modeling fully written in Julia has an implementation.

I think you probably want some tolerance on the exact distance if you’ve discretized your data (i.e. sth like abs(norm(A[:,i]-A[:,j], 2) - r) < ϵ

For the periodic boundary conditions, maybe GitHub - Vexatos/CircularArrays.jl: Multi-dimensional arrays with fixed size and circular indexing. could be useful.

1 Like

Ah, I think I misunderstood. You’re only looking for 1-dimensional distance? If so, disregard my previous comment. But CircularArrays.jl might still be useful. Or just use the mod1() function (which is part of base julia).

Thank @trahflow for the answer,