Arrays with periodic boundaries

Hi! I am a student in the STEM field. I’m not totally new to Julia, but I really have little experience as a programmer.

A problem which I encounter very often is dealing with arrays with periodic/cyclic boundaries (es. working on periodic lattices). I supposed this was not uncommon, so I was surprised to notice that there are no packages dedicated to this purpose (I am aware of FFTViews, but it seemed to me that it was conceived with a particular application in mind).

Another alternative was to implement by myself a module with, say, a PeriodicArray type and overload the relevant functions, but this was really out of my league.

So my question is: what is the proper/julian way to deal with periodic arrays? Is out there any project I am not aware of that can fulfill my needs?

1 Like

You might find the extrapolation methods from https://github.com/JuliaMath/Interpolations.jl useful.

The proper way is to do a PeriodicArray type like you said. If you can’t do it yourself yet then you just have to hope someone else does it.

In theory it should be quite simple, you just have to overload size, getindex and setindex! (c.f. https://docs.julialang.org/en/release-0.5/manual/interfaces/#indexing), but in practice it can get a bit complicated - like in the FFTViews case - when you do the general case and you want optimal performance.

getindex is the function that get called when you do x[1] (x[1] is the same as getindex(x,1)). setindex is the same thing for x[1] = pi (it calls setindex!(x,pi,1)). So all you need to do is to transform the index with a modulo to make it periodic.

I made a minimal implementation for 1D arrays, it seems to work, but it’s probably not very good:

module tmp

immutable CircularArray{T} <: AbstractArray{T,1}
        data::AbstractArray{T,1}
    end

circindex(i::Int,N::Int) = 1 + mod(i-1,N)
    circindex(I,N::Int) = [circindex(i,N)::Int for i in I]

Base.size(A::CircularArray) = size(A.data)