How to add sleep to "JuliaRL_BasicDQN_CartPole"?

I’m trying to use the above-named ReinforcementLearning.jl experiment to model training a DQN that calls out to another program and introduces some lag time. I can, of course, run the experiment but I can’t quite figure out where to insert a small sleep() call to simulate the external call. My first instinct is to override the _run() function, but I’m a julia noob and can’t quite figure it out.

My next thought is to wrap everything in an Agent() and put the sleep() in there but attempts have so far been fruitless…

Anyone have any hints to help me on my way?

Thanks!

Where in the loop do you want the lag time?

You can insert hooks into pretty much all locations in the run loop, where you could then have a hook that simply adds a delay.

I would want to put the lag time in each step. In the real project environment, the call out to the external program is the step… So, add the hook as a parameter to the learner? I’m still really hazy on how all these parts work.

Guess hooks are tomorrow’s topic of study.

Ahh, I think I understand what you want now.

So adding a sleep will really just make the problem run slower since the environment and the agent are both executed at discrete steps. So I think what you are asking for is that there should be an emulated delay somewhere between the environment (observing the state), the agent (selecting an action from the state) and back to the environment (enacting that action) to make control more difficult.

This could probably be done with some wrapper to either the state or the action where you implement a buffer holding values for some time-steps before they are used, thus introducing a delay.

See here for examples, e.g. how the StateTransformedEnv is implemented, and create a StateDelayedEnv something like this

struct StateDelayedEnv{P,E<:AbstractEnv} <: AbstractEnvWrapper
    env::E
    buffer::P
end

StateTransformedEnv(env) =