I need help with getting a simple Deep QNetwork to learn

Hello everyone, I’m new to the Julialang and as a toy project to learn it I decided to try out a simple Deep Q Network as I’m actively playing with (Deep) Reinforcement learning and have implemented various algorithms in Python, starting with table based, through Q network, DDPG/TD3, SAC, MAPPO and so on.

Now I’m trying to do the same thing in Julia and am failing miserably, to the point I really need your help. Here’s what I did: I forked an old wrapper for the Python Gym package (formerly OpenAI Gym) providing simple interface to various toy environments to test out RL algorithms (this one). I’m trying to solve the CartPole-v1, really simple one.

I’ve then created a SARSA/Q-Learning table based agents and they sort of learned (on my own discretization of the environment, but not necessary for the neural net). Now I started to use Flux to implement a simple neural network with absolutely simple layout of Dense(4 => 8, gelu), Dense(8 => 2, identity). This tiny network is proved to work in python with tensorflow reliably. No matter the various RL parameters (e.g. the discount factor, epsilon as in “epsilon-greedy policy” etc.), within 1000 episodes I’m always getting to an average of 100+ rewards (using evaluation environment where the greedy action is always chosen, demonstrating the network’s capability without the added noise). Even 4 hidden neurons were able to work.

Just for reference, in Python I used the Adam optimizer with 0.1 learning rate (yes, this high, it works reliably), 0.99 discount factor, epsilon going from 0.8 to 0.1 withing 1000 episodes, default everything like weight initialization, the main network and the target network with target network update after every episode. But it’s not sensitive to the hyperparameters that much in this simple environment. Even with epsilon (exploration factor) fixed at 0.1 it learns, even with other target network updates it learns.