How can I set the default font in Makie?

Main question

Hi, I am new to Makie.jl for publication-quality vector graphics. I had tried below tutorial but I don’t get how set_theme! function works.

https://docs.makie.org/stable/documentation/theming/index.html#theming

For example, I understand that there is no optional argument font or fontfamily to change all fonts of a whole plot, but we could change one by one. In next plot, I changed the font of title to ‘computer modern’.

using CairoMakie

f = Figure()
ax = Axis(f[1,1], titlefont = "titlefont changed", title = "Computer Modern", xlabel = "Default font")
scatter!(ax, rand(100), rand(100))
save("f.png", f)

This is not perfect and I need global or default setting. Next trial:

set_theme!(titlefont = "Computer Modern")
g = Figure()
bx = Axis(g[1,1], title = "titlefont NOT changed", xlabel = "Default font")
scatter!(bx, rand(100), rand(100))
save("g.png", g)

Of course set_theme!(Theme(titlefont = "Computer Modern")) doesn’t work. What I missed?

Others

And if you don’t mind, could you answer short questions, please?

• (a) f = Figure(); ax = Axis(f[1,1]) things are essential? To write title or x,y-labels?
  • (b) Why axislegend is not axislegend!? So confused.
  • (c) Is there any additional documentation consists of what plotting functions return? For example, I know what lines or hist do, but don’t know what they return.

Any answer would be great. Thank you.

Environment

• julia 1.8.5
  • CairoMakie v0.10.2
  • windows 11

Let me point you to a different section of the docs that explains this:

https://docs.makie.org/stable/documentation/fonts/#symbol

https://docs.makie.org/stable/documentation/plot_method_signatures/

You can pass figure and axis special keywords directly to non-mutating plotting functions:

https://docs.makie.org/stable/documentation/plot_method_signatures/#special_keyword_arguments