Getting user input like with Java's Scanner

Hi guys, this is my first post with a super-newbie question I’d like to ask:
As you may have noticed, I’m new to Julia and I have been coding with Java for a year.
I’d like to get user-input just like in Java but I’m struggling with it.

I’ve tried to use the readline() function: it works great on files, works great on REPL only too, but inside Juno is quite messy
Here is an example inside Juno:

name = readline()
println(name)

This is what I get on console as a result:

julia> asdf

julia> ERROR: UndefVarError: asdf not defined

However, if I do everything on REPL directly, it works fine:

julia> name = readline()
asdf
"asdf"

julia> print(name)
asdf
julia> 

What can I do to fix this?
I’m sorry if I got something wrong while writing this post… I do not use blogs very often.
Thanks!

For me it is not quite clear, what exactly you mean with “inside Juno”.
What do you do to run the two code lines “inside” Juno?

BTW, Welcome to Julia and this fine community!

Checked now with a new file, put some julia code into it, and used the “Run all” icon on the left side. Doesn’t work very well, even with no user input it doesn’t run the commands reliable. With user input it seems just to be worse than without.
Same with context menu “Juno” → “Run Block”.

Issue confirmed.

Hi! Thanks for the fast answer.
I tried to take a screenshot of what’s happening, hoping it’s clearer than what I wrote. I’m sorry for that

Yes, see my second post above.

I tried now with VisualCode and it seems to be the same or similar problem.
I guess it is difficult to properly route the STDIN and STDOUT streams through whatever is done by Juno/Atom or VisualCode.

You could run your file in a shell/terminal from Juno with e.g.

C:\Users\YOUR_NAME\AppData\Local\Julia-1.3.1\bin\julia.exe .\test.jl

(Windows here, you may have another path)

This works with your small example.