General help with looping through dataframe and types declarations

Total Julia noob here.

I’m used to Python and R (and I really dislike the Python and R syntax and generally think the Julia syntax makes more sense for me) but cannot get my head around the types declarations in Julia. There is just something about it that I just can’t grasp. I’ve read through that documentation several times.

I created this dummy example to debug a little issue I’m having and thought it would make a good self training example. I think I’m doing at least 5 things wrong here. Can someone help me with the better way to do it (although this does work as is but probably very inefficiently)?

using ODBC
using DataFrames
using Statistics

dsn = ODBC.DSN("TEST","TEST","TEST")

createtablecmd = """
    CREATE TABLE TEST_JULIA
    (
    X INTEGER NOT NULL
    , Y INTEGER NOT NULL
    , Z INTEGER NOT NULL
    )
"""

ODBC.execute!(dsn, createtablecmd)

summarydf = DataFrame(ODBCSummary = Float64[], DFSummary = Float64[])

for i in 1:100
    for x in 1:10
        for y in 1:10
            z = convert(Int64, round(rand()))
            ODBC.execute!(dsn, "INSERT INTO test_julia (X, Y, Z) VALUES ($x,$y,$z)")
        end
    end

data = ODBC.query(dsn, "SELECT * FROM test_julia")

summary = ODBC.query(dsn, "SELECT avg(z) as z FROM test_julia")[:Z][1]
    dfsummary = mean(data[:Z])

push!(summarydf, [summary dfsummary])
    ODBC.execute!(dsn, "TRUNCATE TABLE test_julia")
end 

summarydf[:ratio] = Float64(0)
summarydf[:delta] = Float64(0)

for i in 1:length(summarydf[:ratio])
    summarydf[i,:ratio] = summarydf[i,:ODBCSummary]/summarydf[i,:DFSummary]
    summarydf[i,:delta] = summarydf[i,:ODBCSummary]-summarydf[i,:DFSummary]
end

ODBC.execute!(dsn, "DROP TABLE TEST_JULIA")

The questions I’m wondering about

• Is the way I’m generating the empty dataframe correct? I’m guessing at how the type declarations are defined, although they seem to work.