Function control flow

Hello guys,

I am a very recent Julia programmer coming from matlab in search of performance. Right now, I am building an economics model which involves solving different problems for different agents in different circumstances. For that reason, and in order to contain the size of the code and improve readability, my strategy is to use a single function which takes the characteristics of the agent in question (his income, savings, etc), sets up his problem conditional on its characteristics, and solves it. In particular, I built a function which calculates consumption, which is used in all problems:

function budget(p,b::Float64,bp::Float64,Ļµ::Float64,ht::Float64,h::Float64,hp::Float64,
                retired::Bool)
    """
    b  : starting quantity of bonds
    bp : chosen quantity of bonds for next period
    iĻµ : position on the labor productivity grid
    ht : size of house rented
    h  : size of house at start of period
    hp : size of house at end of period

retired     : agent is retired (==1)
    """
    if retired == 1 && (h != hp || h == 0.0)
        # retired renter. chooses to keep renting
        # retired renter. chooses to own house
        # retired homeowner. chooses to sell house and rent
        # retired homeowner. chooses to sell house and buy another
        @unpack w,q_b,p_h,Ī“_h,Ļ„_h,Īŗ_h,Ļ = p
        return Ļµ*w + b + p_h*h*(1-Ī“_h-Ļ„_h-Īŗ_h) - q_b*bp - p_h*hp - Ļ*ht

elseif retired == 0 && (h != hp || h == 0.0)
        # active renter. chooses to keep renting
        # active renter. chooses to own house
        # active homeowner. chooses to sell house and rent
        # active homeowner. chooses to sell house and buy another
        @unpack w,q_b,p_h,Ī“_h,Ļ„_h,Īŗ_h,Ļ = p
        return Ļµ*w + b + p_h*h*(1-Ī“_h-Ļ„_h-Īŗ_h) - q_b*bp - p_h*hp - Ļ*ht

elseif retired == 1 && h == hp && h > 0.0
        # retired homeowner. chooses to keep his house
        @unpack w,q_b,p_h,Ī“_h,Ļ„_h,Ļ = p