Factor of two in Zygote complex gradient

Either Zygote’s gradients for a scalar function with respect to a complex vector are off by a factor of two, I’ve been doing matrix algebra wrong for the last 10 years, or I’m just being stupid here. Consider the following example:

using LinearAlgebra
using Zygote

# Two random normalized complex state vectors |Ψ⟩, |Ψtgt⟩
N = 10
Ψ = rand(N) .* exp.(2π .* 1im .* rand(N)); Ψ ./= norm(Ψ)
Ψtgt = rand(N) .* exp.(2π .* 1im .* rand(N)); Ψtgt ./= norm(Ψtgt)

# Functional J = 1 - |⟨Ψtgt|Ψ⟩|² = 1 - ⟨Ψtgt|Ψ⟩⟨Ψ|Ψtgt⟩
J(Ψ, Ψtgt) = 1 - abs(Ψtgt ⋅ Ψ)^2

# Zygote gradient
∇1 = Zygote.gradient(ϕ -> J(ϕ, Ψtgt), Ψ)[1]

# Manual gradient: ∂/∂⟨Ψ| (1 - ⟨Ψtgt|Ψ⟩⟨Ψ|Ψtgt⟩) = - ⟨Ψtgt|Ψ⟩ |Ψtgt⟩
grad(Ψ, Ψtgt) =  -1 .* (Ψtgt ⋅ Ψ) .* Ψtgt
∇2 = grad(Ψ, Ψtgt)

norm(abs.(∇2 - ∇1))    # should be zero, but is not
norm(abs.(∇2 - ∇1/2))  # zero

I’m using the notation ⟨a|b⟩ ≡ a ⋅ b for the inner product here (borrowed from quantum mechanics, |b⟩ is a (column) vector here, and ⟨b| would be the conjugate-transpose (row) vector, the “co-state”).

I was always taught (and have taught others) that if you have a functional J(|Ψ⟩) you can do the derivatives by simply treating states and co-states as independent variables. I actually never bothered to check entrywise that this derivative w.r.t. the co-state matches the Wirtinger derivative, but that was always the assumption.

So, am I doing something wrong here, or is there something wrong with Zygote?

I think your manual gradient is missing a 2. The variable your differentiating shows up twice so you need the product rule (or alternatively when looking at the absolute value squared you need to chain rule through the squared function which gives a 2).

http://www.matrixcalculus.org/ seems to agree (although they assume everything is real):

(Sorry for the screenshot, I’m on my phone).