Error 'No such file or directory'

Hi,

This is my very first time using Julia. I tried to add the IJulia package but got this error message:

(v1.3) pkg> add IJulia
   Cloning default registries into `C:\Users\name\.julia`
   Cloning registry from "https://github.com/JuliaRegistries/General.git"
ERROR: SystemError: opening file "C:\\Users\\name\\.julia\\registries\\General\\Registry.toml": No such file or directory

Any help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like

As the error says, “C:\Users\name\.julia\registries\General\Registry.toml” file cannot be found.

As the directory “C:\Users\name\.julia\registries\General” is a git directory, you should just try git pull in that directory.

1 Like

Thanks! As I am really new to Julia, how would I go about doing that?

Hm, you shouldn’t need to be running git operations manually (and your machine probably doesn’t even have git installed). While you certainly can go down that road, it might be more productive to figure out what went wrong in the first place.

How are you using Julia? That is, did you install just Julia or did you download JuliaPro?

You can also try removing the folder C:\Users\name\.julia and trying again.

2 Likes

Thank you, I just tried to delete the folder but I’m still getting the same error message. Perhaps I’m deleting it wrong? (i was using the command prompt on windows).

I think I installed just Julia, not JuliaPro :confused:

It’s fine that you’re not using JuliaPro (it makes debugging this a bit simpler). How exactly did you install Julia, and what do you get when you run versioninfo() in Julia?

This is what I get when I run versioninfo():

julia> versioninfo()
Julia Version 1.3.1
Commit 2d5741174c (2019-12-30 21:36 UTC)
Platform Info:
  CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G4 CPU @ 1.10GHz
  WORD_SIZE: 64
  LIBM: libopenlibm
  LLVM: libLLVM-6.0.1 (ORCJIT, cannonlake)

I can’t really remember how I installed Julia as it was a while ago unfortunately :frowning: