Deepcopy against the grain of Julia?

I have implemented a particle filter for an agent-based model using JuliaDynamics but I seem to have ended up using deepcopy a lot. Also when I run the simple particle filter over a very simple model I don’t get very good performance

julia> @time runPf(inits, init_log_weights);
 56.329763 seconds (28.13 M allocations: 3.170 GiB, 1.81% gc time, 0.07% compilation time)

I feel I am “working against the grain” of Julia. Here’s my code: https://gist.github.com/idontgetoutmuch/54b2482efea120566290b594507679ec. How can I make it more Julia-esque? And how can I improve performance?

PS I realise I can parallelize the particle filter but I don’t want to do this until I am working with the grain of Julia

PPS I am a functional programmer by background and keep forgetting Julia does call by reference.

The first thing you should do is to remove all global variables. For instance, here actuals, Q and R are globals:

function runPf(inits, init_log_weights)
    for i in 2:l
        (end_states2, logWeights2, inits2, a2) = pf(deepcopy(inits), init_log_weights, P, map(x -> convert(Float64,x), actuals[i]), Q, R);
        predicted[i] = mean(end_states2);
        inits = inits2;
        init_log_weights = logWeights2;
    end
end

(or at least declare them as const).

3 Likes

Looking at a profile of your program it seems 80 % of runtime is spent at

Agents.step!(jnits[i], agent_step!, 1)

Maybe you should isolate a M(inimal;)WE around that to get the discussion going.

2 Likes

Not really, functions pass around values, which of course may be containers.

Keep in mind that Julia does not have pointers in the C/C++/… sense.

1 Like

Thank you - Q and R are now parameters but I see no improvement in performance.

And actuals? The point is that while you have global variables and type instabilities, speculation about other sources of cost is a waste of time.

1 Like