DataFrame sort Performance using Query.jl vs SAS PROC SORT

I’m still learning Julia and am converting some SAS code. I have a large DataFrame (3.3M rows, 6 columns) that I am trying to sort. The performance compared to SAS is abysmal.

function sort1(simstates)
     simstates2 = simstates |> Query.@orderby(_.simulation)  |> @thenby(_.date) |> DataFrame
end
BenchmarkTools.Trial:
  memory estimate:  26.65 GiB
  allocs estimate:  572587197
  --------------
  minimum time:     73.236 s (11.40% GC)
  median time:      73.236 s (11.40% GC)
  mean time:        73.236 s (11.40% GC)
  maximum time:     73.236 s (11.40% GC)
  --------------
  samples:          1
  evals/sample:     1

The simulation column is an Int64.

the date column is a string. If I convert that to a Date the performance is even worse

BenchmarkTools.Trial:
  memory estimate:  46.40 GiB
  allocs estimate:  927642850
  --------------
  minimum time:     95.504 s (16.44% GC)
  median time:      95.504 s (16.44% GC)
  mean time:        95.504 s (16.44% GC)
  maximum time:     95.504 s (16.44% GC)
  --------------
  samples:          1

In SAS the corresponding sort takes about a second:

996  proc sort data=simstates out=simstates2;
997      by simulation date;
998  run;

NOTE: There were 3292000 observations read from the data set WORK.SIMSTATES.
NOTE: The data set WORK.SIMSTATES2 has 3292000 observations and 6 variables.
NOTE: PROCEDURE SORT used (Total process time):
      real time           0.99 seconds
      cpu time            2.26 seconds

The SAS sort is multi-threaded, as you can see from the difference in Real vs CPU times. The SAS sort is unaffected by the date column being a string vs date (in SAS dates are stored as a Double).

It is worth noting that SAS does not store data sets in memory, they are picked up and written to disk as needed. The OS probably has cached the input, but the output (about 151MB) is written back to the disk at the end of the step.