Help with first time working on performance

I am new to Julia and this is my first time thinking about performance. I am working on speeding-up a function (code here). The speed I am getting is 0.011 seconds when I run

@time est_surv(times, is_censored);
  0.011156 seconds (70.24 k allocations: 1.792 MB)

I was expecting the speed to be about twice as fast. I started to read the official performance-tips. I then found an article by John Myles White on [DataFrame performance] (Why Julia's DataFrames are Still Slow · John Myles White). DataFrames are a large part of this function.

Can I squeeze a significant amount of performance out of this function or is the use of DataFrames the main bottle neck?

Take a look at ProfileView.jl. It’ll give you a nice visual of how much time is spent in specific parts.

2 Likes

A first try might be to convert the dataframe to julia arrays with the convert function:

mymat = convert(Matrix{T}, youDataFrame)
myvec = convert(Vector, yourDataFrame[:variablename])

and then let the function work on those instead. if the runtime is the same as before dataframes is not the bottleneck. → {T} is the type of the matrix, e.g. Float64 or something fitting your specific data set.

1 Like

An order of magnitude faster!!

Thanks.

julia> @time est_surv(times, is_censored);
  0.001499 seconds (3.66 k allocations: 296.750 KB)

At first glance, your code does a bunch of calculations that should be linear time but are instead quadratic time. For example, the following code makes length(t) passes over the times array:

nrisk::Array{Int64,1} = [count(i->(i>=j),times) for j in t]

but could work in a single pass over the array:

tsorted = sort(times)
nrisk = Array{Int}(length(t))
j = length(t)
nrisk[j] = 1
for i = length(times)-1:-1:1
    if tsorted[i] != tsorted[i+1]
        j -= 1
        nrisk[j] = nrisk[j+1]
    end
    nrisk[j] += 1
end

and

cumsum_delta::Array{Float64,1} = [sum(delta[1:i]) for i = 1:length(nrisk)]