Constructors for parametric types

Hi all, I am studying how Julia handles constructors in parametric types and have found a puzzling behavior.

Consider this trivial type:

struct Test1{R <: Real}
    x::R
end

I can instantiate Test1 either with or without stating R explicitly:

# Works
println(Test1(1.0))
# Works
println(Test1{Float64}(1.0))

If I provide an explicit inner constructor, the first case no longer works but the second one does:

struct Test2{R <: Real}

Test2{R}(r::R) where {R <: Real} = new{R}(r)
end

# Does not work, of course!
# println(Test2(1.0))
println(Test2{Float64}(1.0))

Here comes the puzzling part: suppose that I want my type to handle the case when the caller passes a complex number by just taking its real part:

struct Test3{R <: Real}

function Test3{C}(z::C) where {C <: Complex}
        r = real(z)
        R = typeof(r)

return new{R}(r)
    end
end

# Why does this not work?
println(Test3{ComplexF64}(1.0 + 2.0im))

Although it seems to me that Test3 closely matches the way the inner constructor for Test2 was defined, this does not work and produces this error:

ERROR: LoadError: TypeError: in Test3, in R, expected R<:Real, got Type{ComplexF64}

The way to solve this problem is to drop {C} from the inner constructor:

struct Test4{R <: Real}

# No `Test4{C}` here, just `Test4`
    function Test4(z::C) where {C <: Complex}
        r = real(z)
        R = typeof(r)

return new{R}(r)
    end
end

# Works!
println(Test4(1.0 + 2.0im))

I am curious about what’s happening in Test3: I do not understand why Julia still requires that the input type be <: Real when the inner constructor clearly says that it can be <: Complex. May somebody help me understand Julia’s behavior here?

Hi,

This issue is that a constructor function Test3{C}(...) should create an instance of type Test3{C}, regardless of the input arguments. The error then expresses that C (ComplexF64) does not satisfy the <: Real you have in struct Test3{R <: Real}.

Something like