Parametric types - type definition in struct name or struct argument?

Hi. I am new to Julia and have extremely basic computer science knowledge. I am trying to learn about parametric typing. I’ve done a reasonable amount of internet search and read the documents. Here are two cases which confuse me. Case 1: Both struct definitions work, but the constructor in the second case throws an error. Case 2: The second struct definition does not work. Can someone explain what’s going on? I welcome links to documentation, but would also appreciate an explanation.

# 1
julia> struct S
       a::Type{Real}
       end

julia> S(Real)
S(Real)

julia> struct S{T<:Type{Real}}
       a::T
       end

julia> S(Real)
ERROR: TypeError: in S, in T, expected T<:Type{Real}, got Type{DataType}

# 2
julia> struct SS{T<:Int64}
       end

julia> struct SS{T::Int64}
       end
ERROR: syntax: invalid variable expression in "where" around REPL[7]:1

Case 2 is the easier one to explain:

• the T1<:T2 syntax means “the type T1 is a subtype of the type T2
  • the x::T syntax means “the object x is an instance of the type T

In the former, you’re comparing two types, which is what you want when putting constraints on the type parameter. In the latter, you’re comparing an object with a type, which explains why it doesn’t work to specify the type of a.

As a side note, Int64 is what’s called a concrete type, so it has no descendants, nor can it have any. This means your definition is equivalent to:

struct SS
    a::Int64
end
1 Like

Case 1 is a bit trickier, I suggest you read the docs on type selectors first. What are you trying to achieve exactly?

I’m not 100% sure what’s happening here, but maybe you want

struct S{T<:Real}
    a::Type{T} 
end

?

2 Likes

There’s some voodoo around Type, it’s special in some ways. I wouldn’t worry about it as a newcomer. If you have a pragmatic question, ask about it, but poking around Type hasn’t really enlightened me either.