Confused with @time result for simple addtion of arrays

Hello, I am new to julia. I just installed the latest julia 1.3.1, and then run several small timings.

First I define

a=[1,2,3]

Then timing the first time

@time a+a

it outputs
0.073568 seconds (231.55 k allocations: 11.170 MiB)
this is unreasonably slow.

run @time a+a the second time gives
0.000004 seconds (5 allocations: 272 bytes)

According to the “performance-tips” in the manual, it does mentioned that

On the first call ( @time sum_global() ) the function gets compiled. (If you’ve not yet used @time in this session, it will also compile functions needed for timing.)

But I don’t understand. Does something as simple as a+a also need to go through a JIT compilation process for the first time? If so, how could Julia be fast because 0.07s is absurd for [1,2,3]+[1,2,3], and I am not sure if the second timing result is just cached result or not.

I never encountered this kind of wierd timing in python. For example, using numpy

a=np.array([1,2,3])
%time a+a

gives

CPU times: user 29 µs, sys: 3 µs, total: 32 µs
Wall time: 38.1 µs

and purely python interpreter is even faster for this small scale problem.

a=[1,2,3]
%time [i+i for i in a]

gives

CPU times: user 8 µs, sys: 1 µs, total: 9 µs
Wall time: 12.9 µs

So how to understand my Julia timing result? How could Julia be fast?

1 Like

You shouldn’t use @time.

Instead, use BenchmarkTools.@btime from the BenchmarkTools.jl package.

3 Likes
julia> import BenchmarkTools

julia> a = [1,2,3]
3-element Array{Int64,1}:

julia> BenchmarkTools.@btime $a + $a
  55.277 ns (1 allocation: 112 bytes)

julia> BenchmarkTools.@btime b + b setup=(b = [rand(Int), rand(Int), rand(Int)])
  53.097 ns (1 allocation: 112 bytes)
1 Like

This isn’t weird as Python isn’t a compiled language. When you use @time for the first time, you are also measuring compilation time so you should disregard the first run of @time.