Condition to use or not to use threaded for loop

I have a function with a for-loop that I like to turn multi- or single-threaded by a separate argument. For example:

function foo(cond)
    if cond
        @inbounds Threads.@threads for n = 1:N
            # computations
        end
    else
        @inbounds @simd for n = 1:N
            # same computations as above
        end
    end
end

To prevent duplicating code I wrote a macro (note that I’m very new to the world of macros):

# use threaded for loop macro
macro usethreads(cond::Bool, expr)
    @assert expr.head == :for
    if cond
            @inbounds Threads.@threads for $(esc(expr.args[1].args[1])) = $(esc(expr.args[1].args[2]))
                $(esc(expr.args[2]))
            end
        end
    else
            @inbounds @simd for $(expr.args[1].args[1]) = $(esc(expr.args[1].args[2]))
                $(esc(expr.args[2]))
            end
        end
    end
end

@usethreads true for i = 1:3
    println(Threads.threadid())
end

@usethreads false for i = 1:3
end

My first question is if there exist any better option or preferred way to do this than a macro?
My second question is if this macro is just rubbish? For example, I could not use esc at the @inbounds @simd line in the same way as I did in the @inbounds Threads.@threads line:

@inbounds @simd for $(esc(expr.args[1].args[1])) = $(esc(expr.args[1].args[2]))

I get ERROR: LoadError: Base.SimdLoop.SimdError("simd loop index must be a symbol"). If macros is the way to go, any help polishing my first attempt is very appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like
@inbounds Threads.@threads

This won’t work.
Threads.@threads creates a closure, which effectively “protects” everything inside from the @inbounds.

You should do something more like

Threads.@threads for $(esc(expr.args[1].args[1])) = $(esc(expr.args[1].args[2]))
  @inbounds begin
    $(esc(expr.args[2]))
  end
end

EDIT: