Can this random matrix simulation be sped up?

I am a Julia novice and converted the following program from Python (for a simple practice exercise). It computes a N by N random matrix of quaternions, drawn from the Gaussian distribution, and then computes the smallest singular value, and repeats this many times. (I have omitted the graphing of the resulting distribution for simplicity.) We use that quaternions may be represented as 2 by 2 complex matrices.

I have a few basic questions, which elude me even after looking through the manual.

1. The version below hard-codes the constants 100 and 1000. When these are replaced by n and samples in the data function, the code becomes .5 seconds slower (4.8 versus 5.3). Why is this, and is there a way to prevent this slowdown without hard-coding the constants, so that the values are easier to change?

2. This is a literal translation of a Python script. Are there any easy ways to make it faster or more memory efficient? I feel I’m surely missing a few tricks. In particular, it produces 2.5 GiB of memory allocations, which seems sub-optimal.

3. Can the compilation of the script be cached, so that I do not re-pay the compilation cost each time the script is run without being edited?

4. Are there any Julia packages/modules whose source code is particularly well-written and instructive, which I could read to pick up idiomatic, high-performance Julia? I was thinking of the linear algebra library, but then I realized that it’s probably just calls to OpenBLAS, which is not written in Julia, so probably that would not help. Perhaps the ODE/PDE/SDE solving library?

I apologize for any misunderstandings in these questions – I am still an inexperienced programmer, and an even more inexperienced Julia user. Thank you!

using LinearAlgebra

n = 100
samples = 1000

function symplectic(N)
	G = Array{Complex{Float64}}(undef, 2N ,2N)

for i in 0:N-1
		for j in 0:N-1
			a = randn()
			b = randn()
			c = randn()
			d = randn()