breakpoint atom juno

Dear all,
I’m new to Julia. Can someone tell me how to set a breakpoint in the atom/juno editor? I’m considering switching from Matlab to Julia but I noticed that the atom/juno editor is a bit underdeveloped. Using breakpoints is really important when debugging
Thanks!!

1 Like

You can use Rebugger, insert

error("here's a breakpoint")

into the code, then use Meta-s to capture the stacktrace. (This is similar to dbstop if error where you create the error deliberately.)

7 Likes

I disagree. It doesn’t have inbuilt breakpoints because the Julia debugger currently does not have that. But otherwise it is highly featured. Which IMHO is quite incredible when you consider that Juno has essentially been two people’s spare-time unsalaried project next to their studies, not the main interface to a hundreds-of-millions-dollar business like matlab’s editor.

Of course we can’t evaluate what you mean by this because you don’t expand further on how exactly it strikes you as undeveloped.

Thankfully, you still got a great answer that you can try out.

4 Likes

I’ve been meaning to work on
https://github.com/timholy/Rebugger.jl/issues/18
for some time, but might actually get around to it soon :slight_smile: (once the remote process support is ready for a release).

6 Likes

I agree, atom is a good editor, matlab’s editor feels very handicapped in comparison. Atom is highly customizable and supports plug-ins that make everyday coding much easier.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for your answer, I’ll give it a try!

Being new to the Julia language I don’t know the Juno/Atom editor as well as I know the Matlab editor, so please take the following with a grain of salt.

1. The most important are breakpoints for debugging. In my view this is the main issue.
  2. The error messages tell me the relevant line of code, but the iJulia cells do not tell me line numbers, so I had to manually count them.
  3. You can’t mouse-over end’s to see which if/for/while they relate to.