[ANN] SimpleFeatures.jl: Working with simple feature GIS data in Julia

Hi everyone!

I’m excited to announce a new package called SimpleFeatures.jl. This package is used to work with vector GIS data in Julia.

This package:

• Works with feature data as a DataFrame.

• Stores coordinate reference system (crs) info with the DataFrame and uses it automatically

• Uses a custom geometry type to interface with GDAL and GEOS for fast I/O and operations

SimpleFeatures.jl was inspired by the R package sf and aims to provide similar basic functionality - but much faster, of course!

Check out the docs for more info about available functions and how it works.

I am very new to Julia and would appreciate any feedback or contributions!

11 Likes

Adam, It’s good to hear of efforts to bring into Julia functionality along the lines of R’s sf package. You might want to look at JuliaGeo and especially at GeoInterface. I suspect your package will find overlap and complementarity with these others.

1 Like

Hi Adam,

Welcome to the community! This is amazing and I also saw your website - it would be wonderful to have the sort of work you are doing in the Julia community and I am sure we all would love to support you! As you say that you are also new, to @George9000 's point, please join us in Slack too and check out the #geo channel! Hope to see you around. :slight_smile:

Link: The Julia Language Slack

~ tcp :deciduous_tree:

1 Like

Thanks, and joined the Slack!

Agreed, JuliaGeo is great and looking forward to joining the community on Slack! SimpleFeatures relies on many of those packages - it uses some modified code for I/O from GeoDataFrames.jl, GeoInterface for some miscellaneous calcs, LibGEOS.jl for operations, and ArchGDAL.jl for operations and geometry handling.