Screening Interest in a unified Vector/Raster Package, akin to R Terra

Hello all,
I haven’t been active in Discourse but I’ve been working with Julia for scientific computing for quite a few years at this point.

I want to know what the interest is in a JuliaGeo project/effort to harmonize/shift the JuliaGeo ecosystem to allow the construction of a singular, unified package like R’s Terra.

One of my big pet peeves (and barrier to full adoption) is that the geospatial ecosystem is not as robust, simple, and interactive as the R ecosystem with Terra. Right now, I feel the ecosystem is made up of disparate, and tricky to interoperate packages. For example, my current workflows for scientific computing are an elementary operation of cropping layered rasters (of different CRS) by an extent/polygon extent then transforming these into dataframes/arrays for further analysis. In R, this is five lines of code that are very easy to read and require only Terra. Additionally, Terra easily lets people throw a wall of stats and operations on vector and raster objects on top of these simple data manipulations.

In Julia this operation would require atleast two packages and knowing how to translate between the packages. In the case of GeoDataFrames and Rasters, it’s easy, but I’ve found Shapefile to be trickier, ArchGDAL is verbose, GeoInterface lacks higher operations, and there are lots of, imo redundant packages (such as GeoJSON.jl, Shapefile.jl, etc. AFAIK these can be handled into abstracted GDAL based workflows with little to no change in code). Additionally, the documentation for these packages are quite sparse and typically show limited “translations” between related packages.