AI models are too costly

Do we want to be part of the problem, or part of the solution?

8 Likes

Of course I want to be part of solution. But, it is easier said than done. I quite ignorant about AI and about managing CO2.

Sign up at https://scientistrebellion.org/ … You will find many colleagues to discuss this topic and - perhaps - find a way to act…

We had a lot of nice actions in NL this year, see: Past Actions and Events – Scientist Rebellion Netherlands

And it’s fun!

5 Likes

I hope publishing a link to https://clintel.org and to Critique of the AR6 WG1 Summary for Policymakers (SPM) will not be considered inappropriate here.

I must say I am not a climate scientist, but I am at least physicist and chemist enough to understand how complicated the matter is.

1 Like

I was perplexed to find professor emeritus of geophysics Guus Berkhout, winner of several industry awards, at the head of a climate-skeptic organization. Whatever our impact on the climate, that on biodiversity is undeniable.

1 Like

The UN Secretary General AntĂłnio Guterres said:

“We are miles from the goals of the Paris Agreement – and minutes to midnight for the 1.5-degree limit,” Guterres went on. “But it is not too late.”

There are many small things we can do: For example if we need a new laptop, buy one
that can be easily extended and repaired like the Framework 13: Framework | Framework Marketplace | Framework Laptops

Or join a climate fresk, which is a card game for 6-30 people where you learn all about the reasons and consequences of climate change, see: https://climatefresk.org/

In Delft, NL we are trying to organize a climate fresk for all of our students.

4 Likes

Well, first I’d say “climate-skeptic” (in German they even say “Klimaleugner”, climate denialist) is too much of a shortcut for a somebody skeptical about the aptitude of the current climate models for the medium- to long-term climate forecast.