Agents.jl and DifferentialEquations.jl memory usage

Hi All,

I’m pretty new to Julia and have been playing around with a few packages that are available; specifically, Agents.jl and linking it to DifferentialEquations.jl. I’ve been following the example given here:

https://juliadynamics.github.io/Agents.jl/stable/examples/diffeq/#Coupling-DifferentialEquations.jl-to-Agents.jl-1

Running that example as is, I get a decent performance using @btime; for 10,000 agents @btime returns a simulation time of 765ms (approximately) and I see about 3% memory usage on my desktop, which has 32Gb. However, I see a lot of warnings from DifferentialEquations.jl about an interruption because Large MaxIters needed, or something to that effect. Never-the-less, I started playing around to see what the performance would be like if I made the DifferentialEquations.jl integrator specific to the agents. In the example above, it is quite a simple change: the :stock and :i values of the model properties in the function initialise_diffeq become dictionaries

model = ABM(
  Fisher;
  properties = Dict(
    :stock => Dict{Int, Float64}(),
    :max_population => max_population,
    :min_threshold => min_threshold,
    :i => Dict{Int, OrdinaryDiffEq.ODEIntegrator}()
  )
)

then below the for-loop which adds the agents, I put another for-loop which assigns the integrator and stock to an agent ID

for id in allids(model)
  prob = OrdinaryDiffEq.ODEProblem(fish_stock!, [stock], (0.0, Inf), [max_population, 0.0])
  integrator = OrdinaryDiffEq.init(prob, OrdinaryDiffEq.Tsit5(); advance_to_tstop = true)

model.stock[id] = stock
  model.i[id] = integrator
end

Then the function model_diffeq_step! is changed to loop over all the agent IDs:

function model_diffeq_step!(model)
  for id in allids(model)
    # We step 364 days with this call.
    OrdinaryDiffEq.step!(model.i[id], 364.0, true)

# Only allow fishing if stocks are high enough