Abstract type hierarchies along with OOP constructed types

Hi guys, I am new to Julia’s Discourse, but rather familiar with Julia. I maintain a package called Lathe.jl which is an object-oriented machine-learning package in Julia with syntax similar to SkLearn. As such, for an example my syntax would usually go like this, this is the ordinal encoder, as an example:

function OrdinalEncoder(array)
    uni = Set(array)
    lookup = Dict()
    [push!(lookup, (value => i)) for (i, value) in enumerate(uni)]
    predict(arr) = [row = lookup[row] for row in arr]
    ()->(predict;lookup)
end

The issue I am running into is that with these unsafe boxed types. I am able to have sklearn-like syntax, and it is faster than dispatch by around half, and I get an initialization function. The only problem is that these types are compound creations and very abstract on definition. They are of the type var(#1515, #1314), etc. Not really the most traceable types. My intention would be to combine this with modern Julian functional programming and create a supertype hierarchy:

abstract type h end
function hello(test)
    () -> (test) <: h 
end

That actually ran, but then running that type under T <: h, I get a return of false. Of course this means it also doesn’t work with dispatch. The only significant way to get around this would be to put this type into a struct and call everything as children of both of the types. Obviously, I don’t want to do that…
Thanks for the help, obviously this a unique issue. I was thinking maybe there could be a way I could wrap it directly as children of that struct maybe, probably through dispatching a direct import of <:. Let me know what you guys think!

Are you maybe running into performance of captured variables in closures · Issue #15276 · JuliaLang/julia · GitHub? Your boxes could indicate that. There are some potential tricks to work around that issue. Otherwise, I don’t understand your problem, so I cannot help there.