Voices of experience - abstract types as classes or interfaces?

Not looking to start a religious war of any sort - just looking for the voices of experience before I dive into this next thing. I am new to Julia, but coming to the conclusion based on the dispatch behavior that I should be organizing structures more around the “interfaces” rather than the “types” of those structures. Is this the case for folks who have been doing this for while, or does a different concept rise up after more experience? On what basis do you all structure your type heirarchies (no pun intended)? Your advice is much appreciated.

1 Like

I’ll start off because the advice can only improve after mine :slight_smile:.

I use types when I want to inherit an interface or when I have a very specific optimization in mind. Think of AbstractArrays and StaticArrays as respective examples.

Deep type hierarchies can be one tricky to manage. So I’d avoid those as much as possible.

If you’re creating an interface and there is parametric info that’s common across types (like the eltype of an array) then an abstract type is nice.

5 Likes

I use type hiearchies mostly internally, whenever they are convenient to organize dispatch. If they are not, I can always switch to traits, or do something more complex. I try not to expose type hiearchies as API because they are inherently inflexible and refactoring would be breaking.

I use accessor functions, traits, and similar for APIs. When used idiomatically, the have zero (or near-zero) performance cost. Personally, I think that deep (2–3+ abstract levels) type hierarchies in Julia are a code smell.

That said, I would suggest that you don’t worry too much about this, and just refactor when it comes to that. This of course requires that the type hierarchies are not exposed to dependencies.

6 Likes