Designing abstract type and related abstract functions

I want to implement a type from where i would like to build other subtypes.

The supertype would be something similar to this.

Abstract type A end
function process end
@keywdef mutable struct B<:A
         a
         b
    end
function B(items::AbstractArray)
      a= items
      b=Dict()

for (i,x) in enumerate(items)
            b[x]= i
     end

B(a,b)
end
function process(object::B)
     object.b
 end

What I want to achieve is a sort of blueprint in a supertype which can later be customized for any subtype.

The idea here is that I want a type A which would define a set of functions (optional and required). Later I can create subtypes of A implementing methods to the functions of A.

For example the I can define an optional empty function process for types A and then later for B (subtype of A) I can implement the method.

I am still learning the ropes in julia so I wanted to know if the example that I have given is the correct way of doing what I have explained.

2 Likes

Hard to say, because what you posted isn’t valid Julia code, and it is unclear to me what you want to do specifically.

Note that abstract types are useful mostly for dispatch. If you just want to define methods for something, you don’t need an abstract type.

1 Like

I have edited the code I shared . I think I have made some mistake in some keywords. I am comparatively new to Julia, so I think I have made some mistakes in the sample code.

Specifically I want to do something similar in Julia like the sample python code below–

class A:
   def __init__(self, items:list):
         self.items = items

def process(self):
         b=Dict()
         for (i,x) in enumerate(items):
               b[x]=i
         return b

Then I any other class can inherit the class B.

class C(B):
#further operations

Sorry, its a long time since I used Python, so I cannot help you as I still don’t know what you are trying to do.