__precompile__() is not resulting in precompiled code

Hi there.

I am new to Julia and I love it. However, there are several issues I cannot fix.
At the moment this is the most annoying one:

I decided using Julia because of its infamous speed.
I’m writing scientific software which aims at solving large sparse eigenvalue systems.
For that reason I end up with very large *.jl files. By large I mean several kB up to a few MB file size.
Though these files are lengthy they basically define a long chain of matrix-vector -products and vector-vector-additions.

The key point here is that compilation takes very long while using the compiled function is actually fairly quick.
In order to avoid Julia compiling the function any time a new workspace was set up, I wrapped the code in a module contained in a custom julia package.

The module structure is kind of nested. It looks pretty much like this:

__precompile__()
module mymodule
     __precompile__()
    module submoduleA
        #some code
    end

__precompile__()
    module submoduleB
        importall ..submoduleA
        #the very very long bunch of code
        #containing the function which is crucial to be compiled
    end
end

Now, when I load the package by “using” or “import” etc. after I did some changes to the source code, there appears a notification in the console that the package is going to be precompiled and a corresponding .*ji file is created in ~/.julia/lib . Seemingly, this is exactly what I want. However, when I import the relevant function, the first time it is invoked takes several minutes. Obviously, this is due to compilation. A behavior I intended to avoid by declaring the modules as precompiled.

What is it I am doing wrong?

Some more details:
I am using Julia 0.6 on an 64-bit ubuntu 17.04 system.