X * y + z does not automatically use FMA instruction

I am new to Julia and was wondering why the code x * y + z does not use fmadd where all values are floats, but instead fmul followed by fadd. On the other hand, if I use the @fastmath decorator, the @code_native changes to use the fmadd instruction. My question is, if FMA is faster and more precise, why won’t it use fmadd to begin with on supported machines?

Machine: M1 apple silicon on 13.4 Ventura
Julia: 1.9.1
Optimization: -O3 and -O2

Because it gives a different result. You can explicitly tell the compiler that you are fine with that with @fastmath or by using either the muladd or fma function. See also the recent discussion How to enable vectorized fma instruction for multiply-add vectors?.

8 Likes

@GunnarFarneback Thank you for your reply and the link.

I was under the impression that because rounding only occurs at the end as opposed to at each step, fma is more precise. So because not all machines have native fma instructions, it is better to default to behavior that will be consistent between all machines?

No, I think the reasoning is that fma does not comply with the floating point standard IIUC

1 Like

@lrnv I’m not familiar with this standard, do you have a link?

This part of Julia docs details the behavior : Integers and Floating-Point Numbers · The Julia Language

On this page, it is said that Julia floats comply with the IEEE 754 standard, with a link to this Wikipedia page : IEEE 754-2008 revision - Wikipedia

2 Likes

This is some misunderstanding. IEEE 754 specifies FMA.

Yeah, FMA is more accurate, but the added accuracy may not be what the user wants. C/C++ compilers have flags to control this behavior (-ffp-contract in GCC and Clang).

3 Likes

That corroborates what I had found while digging around a bit.

I understand, thanks.

2 Likes

More often than not, @fastmath will make code more accurate, e.g. by using fma instructions and multiple separate accumulators in reductions.