Writing tests in VS Code: workflow, autocomplete, and tooltips

Hello all!

I’m currently writing a package for the purpose of learning Julia, and am finding that autocomplete & hover-tooltips for types defined in the package do not seem to appear when in a test file.

Problem
Specifically, suppose I’m writing a package called Moo, and I have the usual package structure. within src/Moo.jl vscode will give tooltips/autocompletion for functions and types defined therein.

Now I have some tests too. I have test/runtests.jl, which includes test/some_tests.jl. If I’m editing some_tests.jl then such tooltips appear to be unavailable.

I’ve tried restarting the language server, restarting vscode, and reindexing the language server cache; none seem to change the behaviour.

Is this behaviour expected? In case the answer is “no”, I’ve gone into a bit more detail on my workflow below in case it has relevance…

Workflow
[[NB Aside – I’m pretty new to Julia and the associated tooling! I’m doing my best to figure out established best-practice-workflow, and sticking to what seems to be common structuring of packaging & projects. I’m coming from primarily Python, also some Kotlin, and C++. Any suggestions and tips would be most welcome! :slight_smile: ]]

When writing tests, I’m currently switching between a Julia REPL [in which the Moo development directory is activated] and running pkg> test. This obviously runs all the tests… not a problem right now, but I can imagine this becoming frustrating if some tests are longer-running.