Writing a parser in Julia

Hello,
Has anyone written a parser in Julia for an arbitrary syntax (other than Julia’s)? Any packages available for lexing and parsing?

Thanks,

2 Likes

In terms of helper packages, there is Tokenize.jl which powers CSTParser.jl.

2 Likes

I asked over at ANTLR if Julia generation might be of interest; seems it might, but we’d probably have to volunteer the generator code – or at least participate. I’m interested, but it’s not something I’m working on right now:

https://github.com/antlr/antlr4/issues/2330

Less helpful, perhaps, but … I ended up hand-coding a tiny parser combinator framework for the parser I needed, and Julia turned out to be quite suited for the task :slight_smile: (The code isn’t quite release-worthy yet, I think, but I could send it to you if you want.)

@mlhetland
Thanks Magnus,
Yes, agree. Porting Antlr is going to be a major exercise. I am still learning Julia, so I do not mind writing a small lexer/parser by hand. Seeing an example would really help. I would love to see the code you mentioned.

Best,

This one is for the Reduce language

CorpusLoaders.jl
contain’s a parser for the SemCor format,

WordTokenizers.jl contains many tokenizers (lexers) for natural language.

I’ld love to get ParserCombinators.jl working again.

I think it might be better to start that again though with the new language features.
as I don’t know that it was performant in 0.5,
and just converting it isn’t going to solve that.

1 Like

This might be useful:

For lexing, Automa.jl may do good work.

2 Likes

Thanks everyone for the valuable advice and to Magnus for the code sample. Much appreciated.

I see that Automa reads text bytewise; to what is Unicode (e.g., UTF-8) supported? It seems Unicode character classes (as in PCRE) are not supported; might it be possible to add that, at least to the extent that membership is easy to check (using things like isletter or ispunct or the like)?