Workflow for monitoring native code size

A good measure of performance is length of generated machine code. As a package writer, I would like to monitor how well the functions I am writing are in terms of concise assembly. This would improve the performance of my packages and loading times in the long-term.

For a practical example, consider the following alternatives of computing the maximum between two numbers:

maximum((1,2))
maximum([1,2])

At first, I guessed that the former option would be more efficient because tuples are immutable and the compiler could do all sorts of things with them. However, when I generate the code, this is what I get:

maximum((1,2))

julia> @code_native maximum((1,2))
	.text
Filename: reduce.jl
	pushq	%rbp
	movq	%rsp, %rbp
	pushq	%r15
	pushq	%r14
	pushq	%r12
	pushq	%rbx
	subq	$64, %rsp
	movq	%rdi, %r15
	movq	%fs:0, %rbx
	addq	$-10888, %rbx           # imm = 0xD578
	leaq	-64(%rbp), %r14
	vxorps	%ymm0, %ymm0, %ymm0
	vmovups	%ymm0, -64(%rbp)
	movq	$10, -88(%rbp)
	movq	(%rbx), %rax
	movq	%rax, -80(%rbp)
	leaq	-88(%rbp), %rax
	movq	%rax, (%rbx)
	movq	$0, -72(%rbp)
Source line: 454
	movabsq	$140402333763728, %r12  # imm = 0x7FB1F73AC890
	leaq	398277240(%r12), %rax
	movq	%rax, -64(%rbp)
	leaq	398277144(%r12), %rax
	movq	%rax, -56(%rbp)
	leaq	398277080(%r12), %rax
	movq	%rax, -48(%rbp)
	movabsq	$jl_gc_pool_alloc, %rax
	movl	$1456, %esi             # imm = 0x5B0
	movl	$32, %edx
	movq	%rbx, %rdi
	vzeroupper
	callq	*%rax
	leaq	397451744(%r12), %rcx
	movq	%rcx, -8(%rax)
	vmovups	(%r15), %xmm0
	vmovups	%xmm0, (%rax)
	movq	%rax, -40(%rbp)
	movabsq	$jl_invoke, %rax
	movl	$4, %edx
	movq	%r12, %rdi
	movq	%r14, %rsi
	callq	*%rax
	movq	%rax, -72(%rbp)
	movq	(%rax), %rax
	movq	-80(%rbp), %rcx
	movq	%rcx, (%rbx)
	addq	$64, %rsp
	popq	%rbx
	popq	%r12
	popq	%r14
	popq	%r15
	popq	%rbp
	retq
	nopw	%cs:(%rax,%rax)

maximum([1,2])

julia> @code_native maximum([1,2])
	.text
Filename: reduce.jl
	pushq	%rbp
	movq	%rsp, %rbp
Source line: 454
	callq	_mapreduce