Why is this code run-time dispatch/slow?

I made a minimum reproducible example for a performance issue I am having with my code:

mutable struct Array_container
    array_field::Array{Float64}
end

function foo(a::Array_container, b::Array_container)
    a.array_field[1] - b.array_field[1]
end

function run_it_n_times(n::Int64)
    a = Array_container([1.1])
    b = Array_container([2.2])
    for i in (1:n)
        foo(a, b)
    end
end

I run

@profview run_it_n_times(10000000)

and observe that the function foo() is “run-time dispatch” since it’s in red (source: GitHub - timholy/ProfileView.jl: Visualization of Julia profiling data). See below for the image.

Specifically, the docs say that it is “dynamic dispatch, run-time method lookup, or a virtual call”. I don’t see any obvious type instability (I am a beginner though), or any other issues addressed in the Performance Tips section of the manual. What is wrong with this code and how do I fix its performance? Thank you!

I think what the red in this case is the allocation of an array to store the result of foo, not any runtime dispatch.

Thank you for the reply! I don’t think that’s the problem in this case. The following code does not show those red bars:

function foobar(a::Array{Float64}, b::Array{Float64})
    a[1] - b[1]
end

function run_foobar_n_times(n::Int64)
    for i in (1:n)
        foobar([1.1], [2.2])
    end
end

@benchmark to illustrate this:

julia> using BenchmarkTools

julia> mutable struct Array_container
           array_field::Array{Float64}
       end

julia> function foo(a::Array_container, b::Array_container)
       end;

julia> function bar(a::Array{Float64}, b::Array{Float64})
           a[1] - b[1]
       end;

julia> @benchmark foo(a, b) setup=((a,b)=(Array_container([rand()]), Array_container([rand()])))
BenchmarkTools.Trial: 
  memory estimate:  32 bytes
  allocs estimate:  2
  --------------
  minimum time:     50.809 ns (0.00% GC)
  median time:      51.581 ns (0.00% GC)