Which MCMC library for continuous time stochastic process inference?

I am just getting started in julia, and there seem to be many options for doing bayesian inference. I have been looking at Mamba and Klara, but I am not sure which is better for what I want to do: inference using continuous time Markov processes observed at discrete intervals.

In this scenario, writing the likelihood function requires a matrix exponential function. HMC would then require computing the derivatives of the matrix exponential in a numerically stable fashion. This is apparently not a trivial thing to do (see this STAN issue: github (https://github.com/stan-dev/math/issues/32). Has anybody here used julia for my application?

Can we include reasons why posts are withdrawn?

1 Like

Can sequential monte carlo work for this? Turing.jl has a SMC sampler

There is also this : https://github.com/JuliaPOMDP

I was short-sighted and pointed him to a continuous-time stochastic process library

But that’s not what he needed. Not sure if this response is cluttering the discussion now, you can remove it if you like.

1 Like

Hi, I am currently working on such a model. There are various issues and workarounds:

1. For the matrix exponential, you can remove the balancing code from the Julia implementation, and do the rest in native Julia. This should be OK if your model transition matrix is not too unbalanced. This works with ForwardDiff.jl, and presumably reverse diff, but I could not get that working because of an issue.
  2. I made a library for HMC likelihood calculations, available here. A test fails, I will plan to fix it next week when I am less busy. Otherwise it is fine, uses log probabilities for numerical stability. Works with AD.
  3. Mamba is more mature, Klara is more hands-on. Mamba has no AD, Klara does, but since I cannot get reverse diff working at the moment, I am using Mamba, since forwarddiff AD is actually not much of an improvement.