What's the best practice in Julia for research (often changed codes)?

Hi, I’ve used Julia about one year and I still struggle with how to use it.

First of all, as a researcher, I often change my code including code structure and Julia types.
When redefining types, Julia REPL needs to be restarted and I should spend quite a long time for precompilation.
In my experience, the actual development speed is fast only for almost-completed codes.
For some projects on progress, I always restart and precompile the whole code, which is so annoying.

What’s the best practice for often changed codes?

Note: I usually create my own package and add almost every functionality in the package for each project. Also, I use Revise.jl.

2 Likes

Some options to deal with the problem of Revise not being able to track type changes are discussed in some threads. For example:

2 Likes

Well, I don’t think it is a cool solution.
It sounds like, I have to replace all structs to NamedTuple for often-changed codes.

Of course, struct may not be changed frequently when the development becomes mature.
Ironically, if the project becomes mature and huge, precompilation would take a long time when I realise that the struct should be changed.

EDIT: Apart from Revise, is it impossible to enable type redefinition in Julia in principle?
It would be really great if someone tells me something about this functionality :slight_smile:

Theoretically in the future, revise should be able to support this. The hard part is figuring out what to do with the old type. If you have variables that are of the old type, do you delete them? What about specialized functions?

2 Likes

I don’t know how to “delete” certain objects. When I’ve searched it, many people recommended to just restart REPL, but my memory might be wrong.

If you don’t mind, can you describe what you meant in detail? For instance, with an example.

And I really hope that Revise once supports this functionality.