What is the difference between Zygote vs ForwardDiff and ReverseDiff

As far as I can tell from the documentation, both ForwardDiff and ReverseDiff can already do automatic differentiation on arbitrary Julia functions. Also Zygote depends on ForwardDiff. What unique feature does Zygote brings to the picture?

3 Likes

I am not an expert, so feel free to wait for answers from other users, they are much more experienced than I am.
I am studying deep learning and with Zygote I can easly differentiate Flux neural network models.
It is also much faster than the others you mentioned (I have tried it vs ReverseDiff with some simple feedforward networks).
As far as I know (I’m a student) forward mode automatic differentiation is used when you have few parameters, otherwise you have to use reverse mode automatic differentiation.

No, all the libraries you mentioned have limitations.

Where did you read that?

For the study of deep learning I always use Zygote.
Sorry for my english.

1 Like

Thank you for your kind response. You mentioned Zygote being faster than ReverseDiff. Is this generally the case? Are there circumstances that ForwardDiff/ReverseDiff performs faster than Zygote?

The main reason I was making this post was that I would like know what are the main limitations of ForwardDiff/ReverseDiff compared with Zygote (and vice versa). From the documentations (Limitations of ForwardDiff · ForwardDiff and Limitations of ReverseDiff - ReverseDiff.jl) of these libraries, it seem the requirements are very lenient? One notable limitation for these two libraries is that they do not support mutation. But Zygote does not seem to support mutation either.

ForwardDiff is listed as a dependency of Zygote in Project.toml (https://github.com/FluxML/Zygote.jl/blob/6b89a068e40bad9673e163e9aee43f2bc4940242/Project.toml).

2 Likes

For a few-sentence summary of those (and several more) AD packages, see https://juliadiff.org/.