Weird UndefRefError in pmap since 1.8

Hey. I am kind of new to the language and my coding knowledge is very minimal. Therefore I am unable to solve (even understand) the problem I have right now.

My code is kind of large and convoluted and I don’t know how to really extract a minimal example. I cannot even reproduce the error in the full code reliably.

I use something like this in my code:

function fill_arr1!(arr1::Array,parameter::Float64,d::Int64,L::Int64)

#allocate buffers
    arr2=zeros(d)
    arr3=zeros(d)

#execute routines with pmap
   result1=pmap( idx -> routine1(idx, parameter,arr2,arr3), 1:L)
   result2=pmap( idx -> routine2(idx, parameter,arr2,arr3), 1:L)

return result1,result2
end

This function is part of a deq-solver and is used once per step. Sometimes the whole code works without error and sometimes at some random iteration step I get the following error (I omitted the last line which basically says that the error happens in the function I tried to paraphrase above):

ERROR: On worker 2:
UndefRefError: access to undefined reference
Stacktrace:
  [1] getindex
    @ ./array.jl:924 [inlined]
  [2] getindex
    @ ./abstractarray.jl:1244 [inlined]
  [3] desertag
    @ /Applications/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/share/julia/stdlib/v1.8/Serialization/src/Serialization.jl:100 [inlined]
  [4] handle_deserialize
    @ /Applications/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/share/julia/stdlib/v1.8/Serialization/src/Serialization.jl:851
  [5] deserialize
    @ /Applications/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/share/julia/stdlib/v1.8/Serialization/src/Serialization.jl:1479
  [6] handle_deserialize
    @ /Applications/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/share/julia/stdlib/v1.8/Serialization/src/Serialization.jl:877
  [7] deserialize
    @ /Applications/Julia-1.8.app/Contents/Resources/julia/share/julia/stdlib/v1.8/Serialization/src/Serialization.jl:1479
  [8] handle_deserialize