Web Noob; how hard would it be to integrate julia with HTML?

So I am not a web developer. Sometimes I do web stuff at work, and a little for fun. I was doing some thinking, and a question came to mind. Why can’t Julia be a serverside web language like PHP?

Please don’t judge the pseudocode here I just quickly scrapped it together

<julia>
function do_stuff_now(x)
   out.value = x*3
end
</julia>

<body>
<form name = "form1">
<input type = "text" name = "in"/>
<input type = "button" value = "do it" onclick="do_stuff_now(form1.out.value)"/>
<input type = "text" name = "out"/>
</form>
</body>

How much of that has to happen in the browser vs how much of that has to happen serverside? If julia were to run clientside I see that as being very browser heavy and wades into politics, but, I think it would be very possible to allow the julia to run on the server instead and get the same behaviour, but, at greater cost to the host…

Server-side: I can imagine we could sort of parse html(remove ref’s to <julia>...</julia>) , get the DOM for each page. Stand up either julia microservices via post commands, or use something like Genie to host with the code baked in. Something like a “compiled” website…

Issues here would be things like security, and also, what if you had 200_000 users all executing functions. Kind of like a reverse proxy nightmare. But maybe that’s not too different from a language like PHP?

Hoping to learn something here, color me clueless,

I would suggest you split things into three parts:

• Do you want a templating engine that intermixes Julia and HTML?
  • Do you want to build a web service or full server using Julia?
  • Do you want a DSL to generate HTML in Julia?

There’s no reason to couple those three and they all have viable strategies in Julia, although some would be far easier than others.

3 Likes