Want to learn Reinforcement Learning from scratch for mini-project

Hello everyone,

I’m quite new to Julia but have some basic knowledge of other programming languages.

As a project for myself I want to train an RL algorithm for a boardgame. It’s a push-your-luck type of game, where you need to asses risk/rewards and therefore I think there are 100% dominant winning strategies which can be learned.

On the same time this seems like a nice opportunity to get more familiar with Julia.

I have theoretical background knowledge on machine learning but not RL specific. So I basically want to teach myself Reinforcement Learning from scratch as well as the Julia specifics.
Anybody has advice on how to approach this? I got quite some time on my hand during semester break. I just started reading “Reinforcement Learning: An Introduction” from Sutton & Barto, but I wonder how other people would approach this.

Thanks for any input/experiences :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I don’t have experience implementing RL in Julia, but I’ll just share a few links I’ve come across:

2 Likes

There is a repo implementing solutions for all problems in “Reinforcement Learning: An Introduction” using the library ReinforcementLearning.jl, so that could maybe be a good start.

There is also the library POMDPs.jl which also seem to cover many similar topics.

2 Likes

Hi Lighfe,

As for books there are:

There are interesting videos:

5 Likes

Thank you for the many resources. Would you recommend the books above “Reinforcement Learning - An Introduction”? Or rather as a go to for certain questions/problems that might occur?