Very slow array creation (and Benchmark iterate error)

I am a beginner Julia user and am having a hard time developing a model because it takes a very long time to initialize certain arrays. I tried using BenchmarkTools.jl to get an accurate time but it generated an iterate error that I cannot replicate. Anyway, I think the time with a smaller sample size (NumTotalSpecies) used for testing takes too long. Could I have some suggestions for my code?

time_FoodWeb = @time create_FoodWeb(BM, Ropt,γ)
82.159197 seconds (155.09 M allocations: 76.550 GiB, 12.35% gc time)
161.635944 seconds (383.93 M allocations: 195.124 GiB, 12.91% gc time)
51.302236 seconds (125.56 M allocations: 63.508 GiB, 14.34% gc time)
using Distributions, Random

const D = 0.25
const Ropt = 100
const γ= 2
const q = rand(Normal(0.5,0.2)) #Hill exponent, μ = 0.5, σ = 0.2

#const = #was a constant but removed to allow testing

NumPlantSpecies = 8 #const
NumAnimalSpecies = 12 #const
NumTotalSpecies = NumPlantSpecies + NumAnimalSpecies #const

BM_P = sort(rand(Uniform(10^0, 10^6), NumPlantSpecies)) #body mass of Plant species #const
BM_A = sort(rand(Uniform(10^2, 10^12), NumAnimalSpecies)) #body mass of Animal species #const
BM = vcat(BM_P,BM_A) #placing BM_P and BM_A together under BM as mass of all species #const

function create_FoodWeb(BM,Ropt,γ)
    function create_L(BM,Ropt,γ)
        L = @. ((BM/(BM'*Ropt))' * exp(1-(BM/(BM'*Ropt))'))^γ
        # Weak links (Lij <p) are removed
        L[:,1:NumPlantSpecies] .= 0.0
        L[L .<= 0.01] .= 0.0
        return(L)
    end

condition = true
    while condition
        BM_P = sort(rand(Uniform(10^0, 10^6), NumPlantSpecies))
        BM_A = sort(rand(Uniform(10^2, 10^12), NumAnimalSpecies))
        BM = vcat(BM_P,BM_A)

global L = create_L(BM,Ropt,γ)
        #take the link probabilities of the previous matrix and determine if L[i,j] > p
        global FoodWeb = zero(L)
        FoodWeb[:,1:NumPlantSpecies] .= 0.0 # keeps plants as basal species