Vega-Lite width and height in heatmap in Juno sometimes doesn't work!

Hi,

I tested the heatmap samples from the Vega-Lite.jl, such as,

d=60
x = [j for i in -d:d, j in -d:d]
y = [i for i in -d:d, j in -d:d]
z = x.^2 .+ y.^2
data = DataFrame(x=vec(x'),y=vec(y'),z=vec(z'))

data |> @vlplot(:rect,width=300,height=300, x="x:o", y="y:o", color=:z)

in Juno plot pane, when d=50 or 53, it shows the correct heatmap, but when d=60 or 59 or 71, it shows nothing.

I am new to Vega-Lite, would someone have experiences with Vega-Lite to help?

I am using Julia v1.3.1, Vega-Lite v1.0.0

Thanks,

Alex

I can confirm this issue, but I don’t have a solution just a workaround.
It only happens in the Juno plot pane, not in VSCode and not in a plane julia REPL when the plot opens in a browser or in ElectronDisplay.
I am not sure, if this is a Juno, Atom or VegaLite issue.

You can switch off the use of the plot pane in the settings:
Settings->Packages->julia-client->Settings->Enable Plot Pane

Now the plot is opened in a browser.
Additionally you can add and using ElectronDisplay to open a separate electron window with the plot.

Yes, I tried to save the plot to png file, and it successes with the correct width and height.

somehow the png file quality is quit bad, especially when I zoomed in, it’s very blury, compared with Plots results

Hi @oheil, I have another questions. when I plot heatmap, it seems there are ~1-2 pixel gap between each :rect mark, i tried to set mark strokWidth=0, but it still there, do you know how to remove this kind of gap, similar to make each bar stick together in a bar plot?

Try one of the vector formats, like SVG, PDF or EPS, they should give you a version of the plot you can easily zoom etc.

Re the Juno story, I’m not sure what is happening there, but you can follow progress (if it happens :slight_smile: ) at Improve Juno integration · Issue #90 · queryverse/VegaLite.jl · GitHub.