Varying function calls in higher order functions

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to Julia but came across a recurring problem in several projects now.

It often happens that I want to use the same general algorithm but with different functions inside. For example here I have an Euler Algorighm that integrates a function, which gets passed as an argument:

function euler(f,t0,tn,Δt,x₀,par)
	T = t0:Δt:tn
	F = Vector{typeof(x₀)}(undef,length(T))
	F[1] = x₀

for (n,t) ∈ enumerate(T[2:end])
		F[n+1] = F[n] .+ f(F[n],par) .* Δt
	end

return F
end

Different functions can have different numbers of parameters. Thats why I pass the “static” parameter as tuple. But there are cases, where the function that gets integrated needs also t as an argument, or the hole history of the process F or other “dynamical” parameters. Therefore or, I write the function call, and therefore all functions that I want to use the algorithm on in the most general way, which then becomes unreadable and hard to modify or I copy the outer algorithm - the euler function - and paste every time a different loop where I sometimes call f(F[n],par), or f(F,n,par) or f(t,F[n],par) ect. But this code is replicative which I usually try to avoid.

Does anybody know an elegant solution to the general problem of? I hope I could explain myself. Please let me know if one does not understand the problem.

The static parameters can be more cleanly passed with closures:

const a = 5
g(x,a) = a*x
f(func,x) = func(x)

#call with
f(x -> g(x,a), x)

For func to have an arbitrary number of parameters I think you have to use something like:

const a = 5
g(x,y,a) = a*x*y

f(func,args...) = func(args...)

#call with
f((x,y)->g(x,y,a),x,y)

For the later I am not sure if I have the most common an clean solution though.

add on:

One intermediate alternative to the “args…” is to use an inner call with all possible parameters (if that is known), and then use a closure if less parameters are used:

julia> const a = 5