Using @distributed for loop

Hello everyone,

Can someone point out why following setup is not working ? Issue is that I want to copy function result in xm variable that is defined by @everywhere to not have issue with workers. But when I run loop it prints results perfectly but its copying locally beacuse everytime I try to execute xm on RFPL for its values. Its always all zeros.

@everywhere xm = zeros(10)

@sync @distributed for i in 1:10

p = [0.18, 4.0, 2.0]
    xm .=  copy(sim_func(p))              
    println(xm)
    println(i)

end

I guess answer is SharedArray.

Hi, your problem is very similar to another recent thread where I explained the issue:

So yes a SharedArray is a valid answer, if all processes live on the same physical machine. However if that is the case, do you have a reason to use processes instead of threads? Threads have generally less overhead and are easier to work with (e.g. your code example would’ve just worked).

Yea, its on same machine. I’m new to parallel processing. I didn’t know that, I will give it a shot. :slight_smile: Thank you

I made this small example for same but it doesn’t seems to be working . Here I would expect to get m = 1.0 in end but it gives m = 0.0 which is originally assigned value. Though it prints 1.0 inside loop.

function test(x)
    x +=  1
    return x
end

m = 0.0

Threads.@threads for i in 1:1029092090

m = test(0.0)
    println(m)

end

This one works…

function test(x)
    x +=  1
    return x
end

global m = test(0.0)

end

This is purely an issue because you used global scope. This also works:

julia> function foo()
       m = 0
           m = test(0.0)
           println(m)
       end
       return m
       end

Outside of question by any chance due you know any source from where I can get intuitive idea of threading and memory allocation in threading process? I read Julia’s documentation but still I feel gap.

Thank you :slight_smile: