Using DiffEqFlux.jl for system identification with partially known system dynamics

Hi everyone. I want to use the DiffEqFlux.jl package to model a system of interest. I have access to a dataset which contains measurements of all system states as well as the external control inputs that act on it. A first order model of some of the states is also known. Can this knowledge be incorporated into the NeuralODE framework talked about here ?

I am new to Julia having previously programmed in Python and MATLAB. What would be the requisite background in Julia needed to be able to achieve the above?

Thanks

The missing physics example in the SciML docs does pretty much what you want, though it does not use NeuralODE specifically.

1 Like

Indeed I would recommend using this route of SciMLSensitivity.jl directly instead of DiffEqFlux.jl as it will be a bit more flexible than the full NeuralODE form. DiffEqFlux is really about pre-made layers.

1 Like

Hi @ChrisRackauckas @albheim Thank you both for your very helpful suggestions. This is a good starting point. I played around with this example a little and realized that the trained network is very sensitive to u0 (which was set by the random seed). If I changed the random seed, and compared solution from the ODE and the predicted solution using the pre-trained model, the UDE approximation was way off and even diverged. Is there a way in which I can train this network on multiple trajectories to rule out overfitting ?

Yeah that’s the next tutorial:

https://docs.sciml.ai/Overview/stable/showcase/bayesian_neural_ode/

There’s also a bunch of other tutorials on making the fitting more stable, like:

and multiple shooting:

I’m never really sure how many details to put into a first tutorial :sweat_smile:

1 Like

@ChrisRackauckas Awesome. I’ll check these out. Btw, these tutorials are great. Thank you for your effort !

1 Like